class="aware-theme v2-theme page-type-blog-post js ">

17 House Republicans Stand Tall on Climate Change

On behalf of our millions of pro-life Christian supporters, we at the Evangelical Environmental Network (EEN) thank Representatives Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Ryan Costello (PA-6), and 14 other Republican House Members for their courageous stance on climate change (below). 

Today they released a House Resolution that could form the basis for a constructive, conservative response to the climate challenge that achieves sustainable prosperity powered by clean energy.

“In uncertain times for climate policy these 17 House Republicans are a beacon of hope for a constructive, conservative approach for climate action,” said the Rev. Mitch Hescox, EEN’s President and CEO, and co-author of Caring for Creation: The Evangelical’s Guide to Climate Change and a Healthy Environment.  “They are standing up for what’s right.”

The resolution states: “it is a conservative principle to protect, conserve, and be good stewards of our environment, responsibly plan for all market factors, and base our policy decisions in science and quantifiable facts on the ground.” 

It goes on to proclaim that a “prudent, fact-based stewardship of our economy and our environment is a critical responsibility for all Americans in order to ensure that we preserve our great Nation for future generations.”

The Resolution concludes by saying “we can and must take meaningful and responsible action now” by tapping into our American tradition of ingenuity and innovation.

We couldn’t agree more!

“It’s time to roll up our sleeves and come together as a country.  We don’t cower in the face of big challenges like climate change; we transform them into opportunities.  That’s what these Republican Members of Congress are calling us towards,” said the Rev. Jim Ball, Ph.D., EEN’s Executive Vice President and author of Global Warming and the Risen LORD: Christian Discipleship and Climate Change.

Here are the 17 House Republicans who are original cosponsors. 

Elise Stefanik (NY-21)

Carlos Curbelo (FL-26)

Ryan Costello (PA-06)

Mark Amodei (NV-02)

Don Bacon (NE-02)

Barbara Comstock (VA-10)

John Faso (NY-19)

Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-08)

John Katko (NY-24)

Mia Love (UT-04)

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27)

Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)

Brian Mast (FL-18)

Pat Meehan (PA-07)

Tom Reed (NY-23)

David Reichert (WA-08)

Mark Sanford (SC-01)



To all our supporters: please join us in thanking them, especially if your Representative is one of them.  You can:

1. Go to their website and send a note of thanks. 

2. Tweet out the Resolution and post it on Facebook.

3. Write a Letter to the Editor (LTE) for your local paper.



Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.