class="aware-theme v2-theme page-type-blog-post js ">

Key Conservative House Members Vote to Protect Life from Methane Pollution

The Evangelical Environmental Network (EEN) and our millions of pro-life supporters want to publicly thank the following 11 Republican members of Congress for their courageous vote to defend children from toxic pollution from over 100,000 natural gas wells on public lands:

Ryan Costello (R-PA-06),

Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26),

John Faso (R-NY-19),

Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08),

John Katko (R-NY-24),

Brian Mast (R-FL-18),

Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07),

Dave Reichert (R-WA-08),

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL-27),

Mark Sanford (R-SC-01), and

Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21).

They voted against H.J. Res. 36, a Congressional Review Act Resolution that would kill the US Bureau of Land Management’s methane emission limits for oil and gas activity on public and tribal lands.  Through leaks, venting, and flaring enough natural gas for 5.1 million homes was wasted from 2009-2014.  In addition to direct health threats, the leaks, venting, and flaring will result in lost royalty payments that will cost taxpayers up to $1 billion.

We are proud of these Congressmen and Congresswomen for defending those in harm’s way from this pollution.  Methane and VOCs from petroleum and natural gas production are smog precursors that seriously impact our children’s lives; for those near production sites the emissions have been linked to birth defects and pre-term births.

Thank you for your vote!

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.